The Vilcek Prize for Excellence

The Vilcek Prize for Excellence

The Vilcek Prize for Excellence, introduced in 2019, is awarded to immigrants who have had a significant impact on both American society and world culture, or to individuals who are dedicated champions of immigrant causes. 

The recipients are nominated by founders Jan and Marica Vilcek and confirmed by the foundation’s board of directors; the Vilcek Prize for Excellence is awarded according to merit, and therefore may not be conferred every year. This prize includes a $100,000 cash award and is presented at an awards ceremony in New York City.

The Vilcek Foundation regrets that, due to staffing limitations, it cannot respond to unsolicited nominations.

2019 Vilcek Prize for Excellence in Art History

The inaugural Vilcek Prize for Excellence is awarded to art historian and curator Carmen C. Bambach. Learn more about her world-renowned work.

Carmen C. Bambach >

  • Ralston Crawford: Torn Signs

    Our new exhibition, Ralston Crawford: Torn Signs, features paintings, drawings, and photography by a master of American Modernism that are rarely exhibited to the public.


    Free with advance registration!


    RSVP here >

  • Press Information

    Press kits and images for publication are available only for the purpose of media coverage of the Vilcek Foundation. All published images must be accompanied by a credit line and copyright information. Please email for information.


    Download Press Kit >