Jury Members

Jury Members

2012 Vilcek Dropdown Arrows
Vilcek Prize in Biomedical Science

Dr. Claudio Basilico
Professor and Chairman, Department of Microbiology, NYU School of Medicine

Dr. Joan Massagué
Director, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

Dr. Titia de Lange
Leon Hess Professor of Cell Biology, The Rockefeller University

Dr. Inder Verma
American Cancer Society Professor of Molecular Biology, The Salk Institute

Dr. Rudolf Jaenisch
Member, Whitehead Institute, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Dr. Jan Vilcek
Professor of Microbiology, NYU School of Medicine

Vilcek Prize in Dance

Ella Baff
Executive and Artistic Director, Jacob’s Pillow Dance

Douglas Sonntag
Dance Director, National Endowment for the Arts

Christine Dakin
Dancer & Artistic Director Laureate, Martha Graham Dance Company

Wendy Whelan
Principal Dancer, New York City Ballet

Wendy Perron
Editor-in-Chief, Dance Magazine

Vilcek Prize for Creative Promise in Biomedical Science

Dr. Heran Darwin
Professor of Microbiology, New York University School of Medicine

Dr. Leslie Vosshall
Robin Chemers Neustein Professor, The Rockefeller University

Dr. Laurie Dempsey
Senior Editor, Nature Immunology, Nature Publishing Group

Nicholas Wade
Science Department, The New York Times

Dr. Peter Palese
Horace W. Goldsmith Professor and Chair of Microbiology, Professor of Medicine, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

Dr. Jedd Wolchok
Lloyd J. Old Chair for Clinical Investigation, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

Dr. Jan Vilcek
Professor of Microbiology, NYU School of Medicine

Vilcek Prize for Creative Promise in Dance

Alicia Adams
Vice President of International Programming & Dance, The John F. Kennedy Center for Performing Arts

Larry Keigwin
Artistic Director, Keigwin + Company

Bonnie Brooks
Chair of Dance, Columbia College Chicago

Larry Rhodes
Artistic Director of Dance, The Juilliard School

Joan Finkelstein
Director of Dance, New York City Department of Education

Andrea Snyder
Co-Director, American Dance Abroad

Jane Forde
Independent Arts Consultant

  • A Message from Jan and Marica Vilcek

    Our founders arrived as penniless refugees over fifty years ago, but with the kindness and opportunity they received in the United States, they went on to accomplish great things in biomedical science and art history. Read their statement on the recent executive order imposing a travel ban.



  • The Vilcek Prize

    Our commemorative prizes are each uniquely designed by Austrian-born designer Stefan Sagmeister, a testament to the individual achievements of each prizewinner. Watch a behind-the-scenes video on how the Vilcek Prize is made.


    watch the video >

  • Press Images

    Images for publication are available only for the purpose of media coverage of the Vilcek Foundation and its activities. All published images must be accompanied by a credit line and copyright information. Please email info@vilcek.org for information.